Monday, October 4, 2010

New football alignment ...

The Kentucky High School Athletic Association released its proposed district football alignment for the 2011-14 seasons, and there was a surprise or two in the western Kentucky districts:

Class A
District 1 ... Fulton City, Fulton County, Mayfield, Russellville
District 2 ... Bardstown Bethlehem, Caverna, Kentucky Country Day, Louisville Holy Cross

Class 2A
District 1 ... Ballard Memorial, Caldwell County, Crittenden County, Murray, Reidland
District 2 ... Hancock County, McLean County, Owensboro Catholic, Todd Central, Union County

Class 3A
District 1 ... Fort Campbell, Heath, Paducah Tilghman, Trigg County, Webster County
District 2 ... Adair County, Edmonson County, Hart County, Monroe County, South Warren

Class 4A
District 1 ... Calloway County, Hopkins Central, Lone Oak, Madisonville, Owensboro
District 2 ... Allen County, Breckinridge County, Franklin-Simpson, Warren East

Class 5A
District 1 ... Apollo, Christian County, Graves County, Hopkinsville, Ohio County
District 2 ... Barren County, Bowling Green, Greenwood, Logan County, Warren Central

Class 6A
District 1 ... Daviess County, Henderson County, Marshall County, Muhlenberg County
District 2 ... Central Hardin, Lexington Dunbar, Meade County, Nelson County

One mild surprise is Union County to District 2 in Class 2A. It was thought that the KHSAA would put Union in District 1 to allow the district to have five teams even after Reidland is dissolved in the pending McCracken County consolidation. There is increasing speculation, though, that construction delays could delay the consolidation until the fall of 2013, at which time the KHSAA could tweak the alignment at the end of the 2011-12 contract cycle.

The biggest shockwave in the state is the revelation that Louisville powers Trinity, St. Xavier, Male and Manual will play in the same district.