Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Sigler, Morris, Duncan receive state honors ...

Caldwell County running back-safety Brandon Sigler was named the state's Class 2A player of the year by the Kentucky Football Coaches Association, and Mayfield's Joe Morris (Class A) and Murray's Steve Duncan (Class 2A) were named the coach of the year in their respective classes.

Other players named were quarterback Jon Combs of Hazard in Class A, tailback Anthony Wales of Louisville Central in Class 3A, linebacker Lamar Dawson of Boyle County in Class 4A, wide receiver-defensive back Marcoreyon Tandy of Christian County in Class 5A and quarterback Demarcus Smith of Louisville Seneca in Class 6A.

Other coaches of the year were Russellville's John Myers (a former Mayfield assistant) in Class 3A, Allen County's Brad Hood in Class 4A, Warren Central's Mike Rogers (formerly of Graves County) in Class 5A and Ryle's Bryson Warner in Class 6A.

Monday, December 6, 2010

Fictional playoff ...

It's my yearly rite to post what a 16-team college football playoff would look like instead of the fiasco that is the Bowl Championship Series.

Here is how it works: seven conferences get automatic bids and another bid goes to the highest-ranked team (in the BCS standings) from the other Division I-A leagues. That gives us these automatic qualifiers:

Big East: Connecticut
ACC : Virginia Tech
SEC: Auburn
Big Ten: Wisconsin
Big 12: Oklahoma
Mountain West: TCU
Pac-10: Oregon
Others: Boise State

Now, we use the BCS rankings to give us eight at-large teams: Stanford, Ohio State, Arkansas, Michigan State, LSU, Missouri, Oklahoma State, Nevada

Very interesting is the omission of Alabama, the defending national champion. For the life of me, I can't fathom a system that says Alabama isn't one of the top 15 teams in the country, but the BCS rankings have the Crimson Tide at No. 16. As it turns out, Nevada — thanks to its win over Boise State — edged out the Tide for the last spot.

That gives us these first-round games, in bracket order:

Ohio State vs. Boise State
TCU vs. Oklahoma State
Oklahoma vs. LSU
Oregon vs. Nevada
Wisconsin vs. Missouri
Stanford vs. Virginia Tech
Arkansas vs. Michigan State
Auburn vs. Connecticut

Personally, I love the Ohio State-Boise State matchup, given the comments of Ohio State president Gordon Gee a couple of weeks ago. Just imagine that if Alabama had gotten in as the lowest seed, the Tide would meet Oregon in the first round.

My solution is this: Use the top six bowl games (Rose, Orange, Sugar, Cotton, Fiesta and whichever other one is your preference) to host the quarterfinals and semifinals on a rotating basis. Use eight other bowl sites to host first-round games on a rotation basis.

Then let the other 21 bowl games invite teams as they wish, and schedule those during the week where they won't conflict with the NCAA tournament games. That still lets fans of the participating teams and college football junkies to watch them — and let's face it, those are the only people who care for those games anyway.

Play out the bracket for yourself and see what later-round match-ups you get. Wouldn't this be much better than the system we have now?

BluegrassPreps.com preseason rankings ...

Note that Paducah Tilghman is 11th in the preseason poll, and the Tornado will face No. 13 Louisville Ballard in the opening round of Lexington Catholic's Republic Bank Classic after Christmas.

Calloway County's girls are ranked 18th.


1. Louisville Eastern
2. Jeffersontown
3. Clark County
4. Christian County
5. Louisville Seneca
6. Lexington Tates Creek
7. Bowling Green
8. Warren Central
9. Pleasure Ridge Park
10. Louisville Trinity
11. Paducah Tilghman
12. Louisville Iroquois
13. Louisville Ballard
14. Lexington Lafayette
15. Louisville Male
16. Louisville Moore
17. Lexington Catholic
18. Mason County
19. Scott County
20. Muhlenberg County

1. Marion County
2. Louisville Manual
3. Rockcastle County
4. Scott County
5. Louisville Sacred Heart
6. Boone County
7. Louisville Sacred Heart
8. Louisville Mercy
9. Madison Central
10. Perry Central
11. Louisville Butler
12. Louisville Ballard
13. Bowling Green
14. Ryle
15. Henderson County
16. Anderson County
17. Clay County
18. Calloway County
19. Elizabethtown
20. Monroe County